|Inkle loom demonstration at Burr House|
|View from the back parking lot of Burr House|
The history of the Burr house is quite interesting. It was built in 1820 by Rowland Burr, a local carpenter and millwright. The original four-room stuccoed Ontario cottage was plank-on-plank construction. He later added a blacksmith's shop. In 1836, the house was sold to Samuel Sanderson and then to Thomas Boothby in 1844. Sanderson and Boothby both ran blacksmith businesses on the property. In 1851, Boothby added three brick rooms, including a large kitchen with cooking fireplace and bake oven.
|Photo from Wood Family Archive|
|Hill Potter's Guild Gallery|
In 1984, the Richmond Hill Spinners & Weavers, the Hill Potters' Guild, and the Historical society formed a partnership and jointly took over the operation of the Burr House. In 1990, the Keffer Small House, a summer kitchen/woodshed was added on to provide a new entrance for it's current use as the Burr House Craft Gallery and Tea Room. The gallery now showcases fine arts and crafts by local artists and is jointly operated by volunteers from the two guilds.
|View of the Tea Room|